Cardillo

architecture

exhibitions / constructed-realities /

Constructed Realities


Faked reality. The dream houses of Antonino Cardillo, lecture by Antonino Cardillo and Carolin Höfler part of the lecture series Constructed Realities by Goethe University at the Deutsche Architekturmuseum



Goethe-Universität



Lecture series

Chris Dähne, Frederike Lausch, and Bettina Rudhof

The Elbphilharmonie already exists. 12 years ago, it was presented to the public in the glossy magazines and digital architecture portals and has therefore long since become a reality in our minds and part of our image of the HafenCity of Hamburg. It is questionable whether we will still feel the need to see them in real life after their completion. Is the audience’s desire for reality through the visual media already satisfied? Would the perception of the building give us something new, something we desire?

Starting from a medium of architectural discipline —⁠ the model, visualisation, photography, parametric programming and smart ambiences —⁠ on the one hand, the complex interrelationship between the understanding of architecture and its media devices is to be addressed. On the other hand, it is important to investigate the influence of these media practises on the perception and confrontation with the real presence of the building. Why do we still have to deal with the building when we can look at design descriptions and representations presented to us much earlier?

Therefore, the question arises as to what happens to our conception of architecture under the influence of certain media practises. How much do images of architecture deceive us? Or do we mimetically construct our reality via the media and what are the consequences?


  1. VISUALISATION
    Faked Reality. Antonino Cardillo’s dream houses
    1 December 2015,Deutsches Architekturmuseum
    Introduction: Chris Dähne and Frederike Lausch
    Project presentation: Antonino Cardillo (Trapani/ Italy Architect)
    Guest lecture: Carolin Höfler (Technische Hochschule Köln)
    Discussion \ Moderation: Chris Dähne and Frederike Lausch
  2. MODEL
    From analog to digital. Design processes at Frank O. Gehry
    19 January 2016, Deutsches Filminstitut/ Filmmuseum
  3. PARAMETRIC ENGINEERING
    Architecture without designers. Programming with Karamba 3D
    3 February 2016, Deutsches Architekturmuseum
  4. PHOTOGRAPHY
    Built pictures. Between architectural documentation and reinvention
    16 February 2016, Deutsches Architekturmuseum
  5. SMART AMBIENCES
    Constructed realities. Intertwining of virtual and real world
    1 March 2016, Deutsches Architekturmuseum



Faked reality

Antonino Cardillo

Every story claims to be true. So what do we talk about when we talk about reality? And what do we talk about when we talk about fakes? Is Architecture imagination? Does it have a literary nature? Is it an attempt to understand the invisible? Is Architecture an idea? Or is it just a strategy to support business and developing? So what are we talking about when we talk about Architecture? […]


Deutsche Architekturmuseum, Frankfurt am Main

Deutsche Architekturmuseum, Frankfurt am Main.





Models in reality.
The digital image promises of Antonino Cardillo

Carolin Höfler

In 2010, the design magazine H.O.M.E. published a visually powerful article about the House of Convexities of the Italian architect Antonino Cardillo in Spain. Previously, Cardillo had been named one of the 30 most important young architects in the London magazine Wallpaper*. He had supplied numerous print and Internet media with his designs and gave the impression that his pictures showed physically built rooms. In reality, however, it was photorealistic computer rendering without reference to a realised building. The Austrian journalist Peter Reischer finally uncovered the confusion between the images.

The question of why Cardillo’s deception had succeeded was discussed many times. The reason for his success was above all the sensational and profit greed of the media, which lack journalistic precision and control. In addition, his approach was considered a criticism of the common architectural practice, according to which architects without construction experience would have no chance of receiving an order, which is why they would be forced to deceive. On the other hand, the question of why Cardillo’s images, which can be easily recognised as renderings, were preferred to photographs or even perceived as photographs, remained underexposed.

A possible explanation for this would be that the differences between image, model and reality are increasingly sharpened in current architectural production. On the one hand, the built reality is increasingly similar to the photorealistic aesthetics of computer images, on the other hand, the post-processing of digital photographs contributes to the fact that they act like model renderings. To rethink the relationship between image and construction, the emergence of an architectural type that can be described as ‘iconic building’ also challenges. It aims to create marketable images that successfully circulate in a global image cycle and can appeal to a mass audience emotionally rather than intellectually. The lecture is dedicated to the digital images of Cardillo under the comprehensive perspective of a summary of image, model and reality and reflects his designs as ‘global visuals’.


007 James Bond Moonraker and Ellipse 1501 House

Carolin Höfler, ‘Ken Adam’s 007 James Bond Moonraker production design and Antonino Cardillo’s Ellipse 1501 House’, keynote, p. 8.




Faked reality. The dream houses of Antonino Cardillo

Goethe‑Universität’s Constructed Realities lecture series poster ‘Faked reality. The dream houses of Antonino Cardillo’ at the Deutschen Architekturmuseum.






References

www.antoninocardillo.com / exhibitions / constructed-realities /

Konstruierte Realitäten

Frankfurt am Main, 



Goethe-Universität

Goethe–Universität, Deutschen Architekturmuseum

Zum Verhältnis von medialen Praktiken und der Konzeption von Architektur

Von Chris Dähne, Frederike Lausch und Bettina Rudhof

Die Elbphilharmonie existiert bereits. Vor nunmehr 12 Jahren wurde sie der Öffentlichkeit in den Hochglanzmagazinen und digitalen Architekturportalen vor Augen geführt und ist daher in unseren Köpfen längst Realität und Teil unseres Bildes der HafenCity von Hamburg geworden. Fraglich ist, ob wir nach ihrer Fertigstellung noch das Bedürfnis verspüren werden, sie in echt zu sehen. Ist das Realitätsverlangen des Publikums durch die visuellen Medien bereits gestillt? Würde uns die Wahrnehmung des Gebauten etwas Neues geben, etwas, was wir begehren?

Ausgehend von jeweils einem Medium der Architekturdisziplin —⁠ dem Modell, der Visualisierung, der Fotografie, der parametrischen Programmierung und den Smart Ambiences —⁠ soll zum einen das komplexe Wechselverhältnis zwischen dem Verständnis von Architektur und ihren medialen Dispositiven thematisiert werden. Zum anderen gilt es den Einfluss dieser medialen Praktiken auf die Wahrnehmung und Auseinandersetzung mit der Realpräsenz des Gebauten zu untersuchen. Warum müssen wir uns noch mit dem Gebäude beschäftigen, wenn wir Entwurfsbeschreibungen und uns dargebotene Darstellungen wesentlich früher betrachten können?

Daher stellt sich die Frage, was mit unserer Konzeption von Architektur unter der Einwirkung bestimmter medialer Praktiken passiert. Wie stark täuschen uns Bilder von Architektur? Oder konstruieren wir uns über die Medien mimetisch unsere Realität und welche Konsequenzen hat das?


2015–2016 Vorträge

  1. VISUALISIERUNG
    Faked Reality. Die Traumhäuser von Antonino Cardillo
    1. Dezember 2015, Deutsches Architekturmuseum
    Einführung: Chris Dähne und Frederike Lausch
    Projektvorstellung: Antonino Cardillo (Architekt Trapani/Italien)
    Gastvortrag: Carolin Höfler (Technische Hochschule Köln)
    Diskussion \ Moderation: Chris Dähne und Frederike Lausch
  2. MODELL
    Von analog zu digital. Entwurfsprozesse bei Frank O. Gehry
    19. Januar 2016, Deutsches Filminstitut/ Filmmuseum
  3. PARAMETRIC ENGINEERING
    Architektur ohne Entwerfer. Programmieren mit Karamba 3D
    3. Februar 2016, Deutsches Architekturmuseum
  4. FOTOGRAFIE
    Gebaute Bilder. Zwischen Architekturdokumentation und Neuerfindung
    16. Februar 2016, Deutsches Architekturmuseum
  5. SMART AMBIENCES
    Konstruierte Realitäten. Verschränkung von virtueller und realer Welt
    1. März 2016, Deutsches Architekturmuseum

Faked Reality.
Die Traumhäuser von Antonino Cardillo

Projektvorstellung

Von Antonino Cardillo

Every story claims to be true.
So what do we talk about when we talk about reality?
And what do we talk about when we talk about fakes?
Is Architecture imagination?
Does it have a literary nature?
Is it an attempt to understand the invisible?
Is Architecture an idea?
Or is it just a strategy to support business and developing?
So what are we talking about when we talk about Architecture?


Modelle in Wirklichkeit.
Die digitalen Bildversprechen von Antonino Cardillo

Von Carolin Höfler

Im Jahr 2010 veröffentlichte das Designmagazin H.O.M.E. einen bildmächtigen Artikel über das House of Convexities des italienischen Architekten Antonino Cardillo in Spanien. Zuvor war Cardillo im Londoner Magazin Wallpaper zu einem der 30 bedeutendsten jungen Architekten ernannt worden. Er hatte zahlreiche Print- und Internetmedien mit seinen Entwürfen versorgt und dabei den Anschein erweckt, dass seine Bilder physisch gebaute Räume zeigten. In Wirklichkeit handelte es sich jedoch um fotorealistische Computerrenderings ohne Bezug auf ein realisiertes Bauwerk. Der österreichische Journalist Peter Reischer deckte schließlich die Verwechselungen zwischen Bild und Abbild auf.

Vielfach diskutiert wurde die Frage, warum Cardillos Irreführung gelungen war. Als Grund für seinen Erfolg galt vor allem die Sensations- und Profitgier der Medien, die journalistische Präzision und Kontrolle vermissen lassen. Zudem wurde sein Vorgehen als Kritik an der gängigen Architekturpraxis betrachtet, wonach Architekten ohne Bauerfahrung keine Chance hätten, einen Auftrag zu erhalten, weshalb sie zu Täuschungen gezwungen wären. Unterbelichtet blieb hingegen die Frage, warum Cardillos Bilder, die als Renderings leicht erkannt werden können, Fotografien vorgezogen oder gar als Fotografien wahrgenommen wurden.

Eine mögliche Erklärung hierfür wäre, dass die Unterschiede zwischen Bild, Modell und Wirklichkeit in der gegenwärtigen Architekturproduktion zunehmend verschliffen werden. Einerseits gleicht sich die gebaute Wirklichkeit immer stärker der fotorealistischen Ästhetik von Computerbildern an, andererseits trägt die Nachbearbeitung digitaler Fotografien dazu bei, dass diese wie Modellrenderings wirken. Zu einem Überdenken des Verhältnisses von Bild und Bau fordert auch das Aufkommen eines Architekturtyps heraus, der als 'iconic building' beschrieben werden kann. Er zielt auf die Schaffung von vermarktbaren Bildern, die in einem globalen Bildkreislauf erfolgreich zirkulieren und ein Massenpublikum eher emotional als intellektuell ansprechen können. Der Vortrag widmet sich den digitalen Bildern von Cardillo unter der umfassenden Perspektive einer Zusammenschau von Bild, Modell und Wirklichkeit und reflektiert seine Entwürfe als 'global visuals'.


Keynote

Carolin Höfler, ‘Ken Adam, Moonraker / Antonino Cardillo, Ellipse 1501 House’, keynote, p. 8.

Carolin Höfler, ‘Ken Adam, Moonraker / Antonino Cardillo, Ellipse 1501 House’, keynote, p. 8.


Venue

‘Visualisierung: Faked Reality. Die Traumhäuser von Antonino Cardillo’, Constructed Realities, Frankfurt am Main, Goethe–Universität / Deutsche Architekturmuseum. Fotografie: Antonino Cardillo

‘Visualisierung: Faked Reality. Die Traumhäuser von Antonino Cardillo’, Constructed Realities, Goethe‑Universität, Deutsche Architekturmuseum, Frankfurt am Main. Fotografie: Antonino Cardillo


Poster

Goethe–Universität’s Constructed Realities lecture series poster Die Traumhäuser von Antonino Cardillo at the Deutschen Architekturmuseum.

Goethe‑Universität’s Constructed Realities lecture series poster ‘Die Traumhäuser von Antonino Cardillo’ at the Deutschen Architekturmuseum.


Referenz